Minor DUI In The State of Washington
In the state of Washington, the legal drinking age is 21 and consumption of alcohol by persons under 21 are illegal. If a chemical test is performed on the driver of a vehicle who is under 21, and they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 02 percent or more, they can be arrested for DUI. According to a recent survey, less than 10 percent of licensed drivers in Washington are under 21, but this demographics is responsible for over 12 percent of fatalities caused by DUI. Underage drinking is responsible for a large number of alcohol-related deaths. The DUI penalties are designed to be stricter for anyone who is less than 21 years of age.It does not matter if someone is showing no signs of being intoxicated. A person under 21 does not have to be impaired for them to be arrested for minor DUI. It is the BAC limit that determines the cause for arrest. It is what will determine if an individual is legally drunk. Just one glass of wine or beer can get most people to the legal limit. This is important for people to understand prior to them drinking anything and operating a motor vehicle.An individual convicted of minor DUI will not immediately face any fines, mandatory jail or ignition interlock device requirements. The instant a person is arrested for minor DUI, the Department of Licensing will be informed. Their driving privileges will be immediately suspended. An arrest for minor DUI does come with a mandatory 90 license suspension. This requirement is listed in Washington’s Implied Consent Law. It is possible for a person convicted of minor DUI to contest their suspension. They will have to file a request for a hearing with the Department of Licensing within 20 days of their arrest.
There are some auto insurance companies that will terminate the policy for anyone convicted of minor DUI. In other cases, an auto insurance company may leave the insurance policy in place and decline any attempts to renew it. Many companies will just increase the monthly premiums. The auto insurance policy will then become a high-risk policy. An insurance company can leave this policy in place for up to five years. At the end of the license suspension, an individual will have to provide the DMV with an SR-22 certificate. This is proof of insurability. It’s common for auto insurance companies to provide the SR-22 certificate directly to the DMV.
It’s important a criminal defense attorney would discover if the arresting officer had sufficient reason to stop the vehicle. Determining if the breath test was administered properly is also key. If field sobriety tests were conducted, it’s important to know that they were also done correctly. Should the officer have violated a person’s constitutional rights, it must be addressed. The goal is to mitigate any long-term effects a minor DUI can have on an individual’s life. Our Dellino Law Group in Seattle can get a person’s charges significantly reduced, and in some cases even dismissed.
Our experienced Seattle DUI attorneys provide DUI defense for individuals under the age of 21 who have been arrested for DUI in Seattle, Tacoma, Federal Way, Kent, Redmond, Bremerton, Poulsbo, Lynnwood, Everett, Marysville, Bothell, Sammamish, Renton, Burien, Monroe, Issaquah, Lakewood, Puyallup, Port Orchard, Pierce County, Snohomish County and Thurston County.