What is Negligent Driving in the Second Degree?
Negligent Driving in the Second Degree is also known as Negligent Driving 2 or “Neg 2”.
Under Washington State law, a person is guilty of Negligent Driving in the Second Degree if, under circumstances not constituting Negligent Driving in the First Degree, he or she drives in a manner that is both negligent and endangers or is likely to endanger any person or property. (See RCW 46.61.525) (link)
Please see this link (link) for more details about what constitutes Negligent Driving in the First Degree in order to understand what circumstances may not meet criteria and therefore be classified as Negligent Driving 2.
In Washington State, Negligent Driving 2 is a non-criminal traffic infraction.
How is “Negligent” defined?
“Negligent” is defined the same as with Negligent Driving 1 and refers to the failure to exercise ordinary care and the doing of some act that a reasonably careful person would not do under the same or similar circumstances, or the failure to do something that a reasonably careful person would do under the same or similar circumstances.” (RCW 46.61.525) (link)
What are the penalties for Negligent Driving in the Second Degree?
As a traffic infraction, Negligent Driving in the Second Degree is subject to a case fine of $250.00 and aggregate total fine of $550.00.
Negligent Driving 2 infractions are worth fighting in order to avoid fines and significant increases in insurance premiums.
An experienced and knowledgeable attorney will conduct a thorough investigation and look at the possibilities of negotiating a dismissal of charges. Please contact us as quickly as possible so we may begin fighting for a case dismissal.